Wide Awake in Wonderland

We’re only dancing on this earth for a short while

Faith is like electricity. You can’t see it, but you can see the light. November 28, 2008

So I’ve just started reading the book, “The Artist’s Way: A Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity.” A few unrelated people mentioned it, and the ideas got stuck in my head. Before I knew it, I was on Amazon putting it into the shopping cart. I’ve only gotten through the first couple chapters, but already it’s quite clear that the author is a major advocate of an idea she calls “morning pages.”

Get up each morning – every morning – and write three pages in your own handwriting. They can be about anything so long as it’s three pages. And if you have nothing to say, you can write “I have nothing to say” over and over until you fill three pages.

That’s a little bit how I feel today.

I have nothing to say.

I have nothing to say.

I have nothing to say.

On the other hand, I haven’t started my morning pages process yet, so (in theory) starting tomorrow I will blow your little mind with the intensely creative and amazing things I will have to share. Allegedly.

I also must warn you that I am (for reasons unknown) entering into yet another ‘out there’ period of my life. I have been ‘out there’ more than once,  but I always seem to gravitate back to the (boring and predictable, but non-strange and thus strangely comforting) middle. The norm. However, the mere fact that I felt compelled to purchase “Mastering Remote Viewing – Remote Viewing, Third Eye, & Astral Projection” should serve as fair warning that my interests are once again moving toward the fringe.

I have a real love/hate relationship with the fringe. I love the idea that there’s magic in the world and so many things that we cannot easily perceive or sense or know, but that can be accessed if only we knew how. I love the idea that we’re all here with a purpose and to some extent the meaning of our lives is to discover and uncover our gifts in order to share them with the world.

At the same time, I hate that I have no proof. Nor does anyone else. I can’t see it or touch it or validate it beyond a shadow of a doubt. To believe in ‘the other’ (any other, really. Including that widely accepted by milliions) requires faith. And faith requires courage.

That stated, I am nothing if not a courageous soul. So I think in the end my curiosity will win out. I may never gain infallible proof, and I may end up believing in things that other people regard as kooky or even nuts, but a little mystery keeps it interesting. And if it turns out that there really is a whole magical world out there? What a wonderful ride that would be…

 

2 Responses to “Faith is like electricity. You can’t see it, but you can see the light.”

  1. savanvleck Says:

    I will share with you a story that I have shared with few. I have not even written this on my own blog yet, so your blog is first.
    When my brother died, I was standing up near head and had my hand on his right shoulder. I am a very emotional person and was crying — hard– total, total agony and loss.

    Suddenly, I felt what can only be described as an energy coming from his body shooting right through my arm and through me. I felt, more than heard the words. “It’s allright. Everything is going to be okay.”

    I stopped crying so immediately that my husband grabbed me to see if I was okay. I was not looking at the heart monitor but I had looked up as this all happened and David flat lined as I felt the energy. Energy, from his body came through mine.

    I am not an organized religion person. I lean more toward a belief in Zen Buddhism. I do not take this as God’s word to me. No, it was my brother giving me peace. I firmly believe there is an energy that joins us all and that if we can access this, who knows how far we can progress. It could be like magic. If we are not open to these ideas, then how will we ever progress or be more than just bodies?

  2. wideawakeinwonderland Says:

    Savanvleck, thanks for sharing your amazing story. I’m honored! I do think you’re right. Every religion allows for some kind of life force or energy that makes us who we are and carries on to the next place – soul, chi, life force, inua, etc. As you may have learned along the way, the core of Tibetan Buddhism is about learning to meditate so that your essential life force can gracefully leave when you die. Meditation is practicing to set it free! Again, thanks for sharing something so personal…


Leave a comment