Wide Awake in Wonderland

We’re only dancing on this earth for a short while

Nothing starts the morning like a couple three flights of vino August 4, 2008

Filed under: General bitching,humor,Life,Travel — wideawakeinwonderland @ 9:13 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

So I’m on my 6:00 a.m. flight to Salt Lake City (from whence I connect to JFK), and my seat mates are making me want to puke. They are on their second mini bottles (each) of Fish Eye Cabernet Sauvignon…ON THE ROCKS. At 6:30 a.m. Don’t get me wrong, I like a party as much as the next guy, but cheap red wine on ice for breakfast!? Have you never heard of vodka or red beer?

On the other hand, maybe Fish Eye has overlooked a key market segment here? Or a partnership opportunity? Fish Eye Cab and Cheerios: Lower your cholesterol and catch a fun buzz!  ***Not responsible for strung out feeling, dry heaves, or killer headache that may set in around noon ***

So beyond my obvious judgment of these probably very nice and possibly alcoholic individuals, what’s really bugging me is that I can SMELL it. A lot. And it smells BAD. Actually, at the crack of dawn, it just smells plain old wrong.

However, such is life sometimes. Just as the last bottle was polished off and I thought perhaps the drinking would subside, the flight attendant showed up with a full plastic cup of red wine poured from a leftover bottle in first class. Naturally, my neighbors were thrilled…and requested more ice to go with it. Salud!

 

5 Responses to “Nothing starts the morning like a couple three flights of vino”

  1. Loversknot Says:

    I’m a relatively young person (a tender lil 22 years old) but when I decided to take a trip out to Seattle (from Florida) to visit some e-Pals of mine, I figured I had a long trip and I might as well start it off the adventurous way. I ordered a little bottle of I can’t remember what and I’m not even a drinker. After taking a sip and remembering one of the primary reasons I’m not a drinker (that being the vast majority of alcohol tastes like a delicious mixture of ass and cough syrup) I personally wished I had saved my six dollars for something of a non-disgusting variety.

    My neighbors surely smelled the drink, but I don’t think they would have been any less displeased with it than I was.

    Anyway, I’m sorry to hear that there was a bit of a bad start to your trip! Maybe you’ll find a nice older couple that’ll befriend you on the flight like I did. They realized I was hungry because I kept asking the flight attendant for more pretzels (they’re stingy on those things) so they shared some of their snacks with me and gave me their pretzels. As I was drifting in and out of an uncomfortable sleep in my window seat, head resting on the tray table + pillow (reminiscent of my school days, unsurprisingly) they offered me their pillows and a blanket so I could get a bit more comfortable. We talked a bit before getting off the plane about how they were from L. A. and visiting Florida for a vacation, and how I was headed to WA to visit pals and whatnot. Nice folks.

    Errm. So… yeah. I hope you meet nice people too! Have a great trip.

  2. Loversknot Says:

    MORE* displeased, I mean.

  3. Maxxy Says:

    WOW !!! – Sounds like your off on a real adventure. I can’t imagine doing anything like that, even though I’d love to. I have too many ties here at home, including my home. What stuff have you left behind ?? I’m facinated now, I’ll have to see if there’s any answers to the questions I have in any previous entries before I go asking dumb questions hehehe. Anyway, I have you as a favourite now, so you’d better update regularly !!! LOL…

  4. wideawakeinwonderland Says:

    Hi Loversknot! Small (or large) unexpected kindnesses – especially while traveling – renew my faith in the world. It sounds like you had some kind seat mates that trip. 🙂
    Actually, out of sheer fascination, I did strike up a conversation with my early bird winos, and they were quite friendly and on their way to Washington D.C. I don’t see the connection myself, maybe it’s just that a few ice cold cups of red wine felt festive? God knows I’ve had my moments where Bloody Marys are concerned…

  5. wideawakeinwonderland Says:

    Hey Maxxy! Sorry for the slow response, and fire away with the ‘dumb´ questions. You know what they say, ‘There are no dumb questions…´In this case, I happen to agree.

    Seriously though, I will add another page of ‘catch up´ information for anyone who finds this blog now or in the future, and include a listing of what´s been left behind and/or given up, such as home, dog, relationship, job, personal safety, closetful of clothes, etc. etc. and anything else you´re wondering or which may be of interest.
    Moreover, and more importantly, thanks for trusting me to live up to favorite status…I will do my best! 🙂


Leave a Reply

